december, 2022

Term Dates | 2022

Term 1

Start: Monday,31 January
Finish: Friday, 8 April

Term 2

Start: Tuesday, 26 April
Finish: Friday, 24 June

Term 3

Start: Monday, 11 July
Finish: Friday, 16 September

Term 4

Start: Monday, 4 October
Finish: Tuesday, 20 December

Curriculum Days (pupil free)

Monday 30th May
Tuesday 14th June
Friday 29th July

O.S.H.C. is available. Booking are essential.

Parent Information Booklet

Our School Zone

The Valkstone Primary school zone is available on

This hosts the most up-to-date information about Victorian school zones for 2021 onwards.

Students residing in this zone are guaranteed a place at our school, which is determined on the basis of your permanent residential address.

The Department provides guidance through the School Placement Policy to ensure that students have access to their designated neighbourhood school and the freedom to choose other schools, subject to facility limitations.

You can find more information and answers to frequently asked questions on the Department’s website under School zones.  

For more information

If you have a question about school zones call the VSBA Hotline on 1800 896 950 or email:


School Tours

Book a Tour

Thursday 21st July – 10am

Tuesday 2nd August – 10am


Enter at the main gate near the Office.

‘Meet with the Principal for an introductory chat, then be guided through the school on a student led tour.

Registration essential, please book online with the Trybooking link, for your preferred date.’


Prep 2021 Parent Information Sessions

School Council Information

Our School Council

School Council, within the framework of overall state policy guidelines, develops systems and processes that best suit our students. Council has a range of responsibilities, including:

  • policy making;
  • general facilities and grounds usage and maintenance;
  • budget approval and oversight;
  • employment of the principal and some staff (including Out of School Hours coordinators); and
  • community participation.

Whilst overall policy is determined by School Council the day to day programs and operation of the school are the responsibility of the principal and staff.

The operation of School Council and its sub-committees are assisted by a set of principles and procedures, called Standing Orders and Terms of Reference (role statements).

Composition of Council

School Council is structured to represent the joint interests and responsibilities of teachers and parents for the education of children. Each school council decides on their composition and the numbers of representatives in each category. Our council consists of eleven members in total: six parent members and five DET members including the principal. Councillors serve a two-year term, with half the Council standing for election each year. Elections are held prior to March 31 each year.

Sub Committees

The following sub committees have been established to assist in the operation of School Council:

  • Strategic Planning
  • Finance
  • Education
  • Grounds and buildings
  • Fundraising
  • Out of School Hours Care (OSHC)

Membership of these sub committees is open to parents and teachers. Nominations for membership are called for annually. All sub committees include teachers and at least one School Council representative.
Whilst School Council has the ultimate decision-making responsibility the sub committees initiate improvements, make recommendations and lead the implementation of plans.


The School Council does not act in a vacuum. It seeks to involve the whole school community and, where appropriate, the wider community. Important policy initiatives are moulded in the light of wide consultations with parents, staff and where necessary, students. Involvement in the sub-committees of the School Council is open to both elected members of School Council and members of the general school community. Involvement is generally sought annually, with interest and a willingness to allocate time and ideas being the chief requirements.

Our School Council invites all parents to participate in the work and activities of School Council. Subcommittees are an excellent avenue for such involvement. The council meets at least once per term, usually on a Tuesday evening. School Council meetings are open for observers to attend, and the minutes of meetings are available through the office. Parents are also kept informed through School Council articles in the school newsletter following each meeting.

We invite all parents to consider involvement in this important governing body of our school. Half the Council is up for re-election each year, prior to March 31. Nominations are called via the school’s website and official nomination forms are available from the school office. Elections, involving the whole school community, are held if the number of nominations exceeds the number of vacancies on Council.

Membership of sub-committees is open to any school community member, based on interest. It is not necessary to be a member of School Council to join a sub-committee. Sub-committees such as the Fundraising sub-committee are vital to the community life of the school and rely on broad membership to achieve its aim of catering for the fundraising needs of the school.


President and Convenor, Strategic planning sub-committee
Mr Joel Chibert

Vice President
Mr Huw Carisbrooke

Treasurer and Convenor, Finance sub-committee
Mr Huw Carisbrooke

Convenor, Education sub-committee
Mrs Angela Dawson

Convenor, Grounds and buildings sub-committee
Ms Jessica Clydesdale

Convenor, Fundraising sub-committee
Ms Carli Kawalsky

Convenor, Out of School Hours Care sub-committee
Ms Marilyn Koolstra


School Councillors (2022):
Mrs Lauren Aitchison (parent)
Mr Huw Carisbrooke (parent)
Mr Joel Chibert (parent)
Ms Jessica Clydesdale (parent)
Mrs Angela Dawson (DET)
Mrs Belinda Elboher (community)
Mrs Erin Goodman (DET)
Mr Jules Goldenberg (community)
Mrs Carli Kawalsky (parent)
Miss Hannah King (DET)
Mrs Marilyn Koolstra (DET)
Miss Brittany Meyerowitz (DET)
Mr Taner Savran (parent)

All Councillors can be contacted via the School’s email address.

Out of School Hours Care

Valkstone Primary School offers a School Council managed and operated Outside School Hours Care program.
It provides:
Before School Care – 7.00am – 8.45am
After School Care – 3.30pm – 6.30pm
School Holiday Program Care and Curriculum Day Care – 7am – 6.30pm

The OSHC program is registered, accredited and adheres to the National Quality Standards. 

Users of the program can access the Commonwealth Government Childcare Subsidy (subject to eligibility).

To enrol and for further information about the program please contact our
OSHC Coordinator on 0418 386 420 or email: